Arrival

Fifty-eight hours after leaving the cold confines of Seattle, I’m finally here. The shower is hot, the toilet flushes and the bed…exists. The trip from Seattle to near the end of the continent was a long one, made longer by modes of transportation chosen for their economic rather than temporal benefits. Airport stops at LA, Santiago and Buenos Aires combined with a 22 hours bus ride for a very long excursion, but I can’t say it wasn’t worth it.

I had a long layover in Buenos Aires, but for logistical reasons did not have a chance to explore it. From what I could see from buses and shuttles, the city is fantastic. Mixing European architecture and style with South American flavor. I hated to leave, but my schedule did not permit me to stay.

My destination, San Carlos De Bariloche is magnificent and the studio apartment where I am set up is afforded a commanding view of Lake Nahuel Huapi. The blinds above my window show evidence of years of disuse. They are covered in dust and missing many of their fundamental moving parts. No one has attempted to obscure the view for a very long time, and I do not plan on being the first.

I have been here for a little over 24 hours now, and cannot say that many newsworthy events have taken place. Hours of much needed sleep, a trip to the local market for much needed wine and plenty of reading.  I walked for a few hours this evening as the sun was setting, in search for a beer and a little human interaction. The beer was all I found but I did manage to take a picture or two.

I plan on doing some preliminary exploration of the surrounding area in the next week, punctuated by writing sessions to supplement my bank account. I hope to have some new posts about the town itself and whatever trouble I may get into there. For now, it is time to sleep. So read this and think that as you rot in your frozen wasteland, I feast on fragrant summer breezes and songbird soundtracks. Ciao!

 

~ by Hutch on January 9, 2011.

One Response to “Arrival”

  1. Hi Pat-
    After Googling (is that a verb?) Bariloche I realized that you are in an Argentinian paradise….even without the beer. It looks beautiful Pat, you’ve made a very wise choice.
    Ira

Leave a Reply

 
